an Alice in Wonderland birthday

Alice in Wonderland is actually one of my favorite books and cartoon movie.  I was excited when a coworker asked me to bake for her second kid’s first birthday with an Alice in Wonderland theme! She didn’t use any characters, instead mostly just generic concepts from the movie.  She gave me some pictures of ideas and this is what I came up with.  Although it all seems so simple to make, everything takes a long, very long time. This was one of the longest projects I’ve had!  Let me explain.  For these cake pops, I made red velvet and chocolate which means, baking two different kinds of cake.  Then I had to mold them into hearts, balls, circles for the clocks, and the shape for the mad hatter hats.  Then for the chocolate to dip, the chocolate melts that you buy at the store, comes only in certain colors.  If someone requests a certain shade to match something (i.e. the invitation or the cake, etc) I would need to custom blend the color of the chocolate.  After you dip the cake pops, then I used the royal icing from the cookies to pipe on the extra details-the crown on the heart, “eat me” and the clock.  The hat, I used some fondant for the bottom of the hat and stuck it to the bottom of the cake, then dipped the whole thing into chocolate. Lots of work for these little suckers!!! If you’re wondering why they cost more than you anticipated, that’s why 🙂

Alice in Wonderland cake pops

Alice in Wonderland cake pops

These sugar cookies had to be made, chilled, rolled out and cut out then baked.  After some time to cook off, it’s time to decorate! Even though these cookies were considered pretty simple in terms of the cookie world, since there’s not too many colors or details, it still takes time! All the royal icing has to be mixed with color, and consistency of the icing needs to be different-stiffer consistency for piping, and runnier consistency to “flood” or fill the cookies.  Guess how many bags of icing I needed to make for this project? 🙂

Alice in Wonderland cookies

Alice in Wonderland cookies

Then, for the cake. ahhhh yes, cake.  Did I mention I hate making cakes? I really must need to stop making them. haha.  But I can’t say no, and I think practice makes perfect.  I think the most I hate about it is covering a cake in fondant.  This topsy turvy cake, which is supposed to look crooked, didn’t turn out exactly as I imagined it.  You can’t really tell that it’s “crooked” mostly because of the way I used a certain side for the front.  If I had turned the cake 45* and used that as the front, you could have seen the slant of the hat a bit more.  This was my first attempt at a topsy turvy cake..and I think the lip of the hat covered the bottom tier too much.  But it had to be a hat..!

DSC_0025

The bottom tier was a two layer chocolate cake with a chocolate ganache frosting and top tier was a two layer red velvet cake with a cream cheese frosting which are all made from scratch.  Imagine each time, cleaning and washing my kitchen aid mixer for every step (yes I wish I had more than one mixer!!!) and yes, I wish I had pocket elves to help me clean up and bake so I can just concentrate on decorating everything.  😀 Don’t get me wrong, I love love love, making everything, but sometimes I wish I can skip a few steps to cut down on time and have more efficiency. haha.  But I guess that’s what owning a bakery is like huh? Hahahha. Happy first birthday Alyssa! Hope your party was a blast!! 🙂

One thought on “an Alice in Wonderland birthday

  1. Carrie….you did an amazing job on everything and I appreciate all the hard work you put into each dessert! I got rave reviews from my guests about all the desserts you made and gave them your information so I hope I brought you more business! I’m sorry it was such a labor of love, but everything turned out great! 😀 Thanks again for everything!

Leave a Reply

