A Batman Birthday!!

I love repeat customers!! I’m happy that a coworker was happy with her Alice in Wonderland treats for her daughter’s birthday that she wanted some stuff for her son’s birthday!! Yay! I love superheros too, they’re so much fun to make! I was a little nervous because it was the same week as my nephew’s birthday party, but his was on Sunday and this Batman party was for Saturday, and I always hate to say no and look forward to the opportunity to make new things so yes it was!! (and then I get yelled at by BF for trying to do too much haha) But it ended up turning out great, few late nights but, I’ll live!!

She wanted a small Batman cake, some mini cupcakes and cake pops! I love mini cupcakes so much more now because it’s like a perfect bite, you just pop it in your mouth! No holding a cupcake, trying to bite it and fight with the crumbs and getting crumbs everywhere! But toppers are always such a pain because they’re so much smaller, so there’s not much room for too much. For these, the Batman symbol was a simple solution! But, simple on the surface! haha. The only way I could think of how to accomplish this was to cut it out by hand..I mean where can I find a mini Batman cutter to cut the fondant on a whim?! So I printed out a small Batman symbol and used a razor to cut the fondant to top off these mini red velvet cupcakes!

DSC_0002

For the Batman cake pops, the cake was rolled into balls then placed in the fridge to firm up.  The white chocolate was given a slight tint with yellow and orange chocolates, so that it had a slight skin tone color.  The cake pops were dipped in the white, then chocolate covered sunflower seeds was stuck on for the bat ears!

DSC_0010

After that was dried, the top half was dipped in black chocolate for the mask.  White jimmy sprinkles were stuck on for the eyes. I drew on the mouth with an edible black pen. Batman!!!

DSC_0012

Hahah. pretty funny. The cake was not too hard either! two layer blue velvet cake with a cream cheese frosting.

DSC_0016

The “4” is rolled fondant that I stuck a a toothpick in and let dry.  I hope you had a happy 4th Batman birthday Noah!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

