An Indiana Jones baby shower!

Indiana Jones? Yes haha!! When one of my coworkers approached me to make some cake and cupcakes for her niece’s baby shower a few months ago, I asked, as I always do, “What’s the theme?” She replied, “Indiana Jones.” Then laughed.  So I thought she was joking. When the baby shower approached, she asked about the Indiana Jones theme again. Hahaha, so she wasn’t joking! Pretty untraditional theme for a baby shower, but makes my job definitely more interesting!! I also can’t say how much I LOVE Indiana Jones…oh and his movies are great too. 🙂 She needed a cake to feed almost 100 people, which I said my fridge can’t accommodate a cake that size (I really must get a french door fridge..or a second fridge in the garage :D) so I suggested a cake and cupcakes to supplement the cake.  Now, let me talk about cake servings.  There’s a standard serving of cake depending on the shape and size and wether it’s being served at a wedding or a different event.  I guess cakes are cut into smaller slices for weddings, and they cut it differently.  So it’s kind of hard to say how any people a cake will people because depending on how you cut the cake, you can people an additional 10-15 people. That’s a lot! Like this:

Circle cakes aren’t necessarily cut into traditional slices as you can see. I didn’t know that until I started baking! I’ve been using Wilton’s cake cutting guide as a general standard on cake serving sizes, give or take!

Wedding Cake Cutting Guide

This guide shows how to cut popular shaped wedding tiers into pieces approximately 1 in. x 2 in. by two layers high (about 4 in.). Even if a larger serving size is desired, the order of cutting is still the same. The first step in cutting is to remove the top tier, and then begin the cutting with the 2nd tier followed by the 3rd, 4th and so on. The top tier is usually saved for the first anniversary, so it is not calculated into the serving amount.

The number of servings listed are intended as a guide only and offer a small portion of wedding cake. If cake is the only dessert and/or portions larger than 1”x2” are served, then you will have less servings than the chart indicates.

Round Tiers: 
Move in two inches from the tier’s outer edge; cut a circle and then slice 1 in. pieces within the circle. Now move in another 2 in., cut another circle, slice 1 in. pieces and so on until the tier is completely cut. The center core of each tier and the small top tier can be cut into 3rds, 4ths, and 6ths, depending on size.
Square Tiers:
Move in 2 in. from the outer edge and cut across. Then slice 1 in. pieces of cake. Now move in another 2 in. and slice again until the entire tier is cut.

For this Indiana Jones cake, I make a square 3 tiered chocolate and vanilla marbled cake  with fresh strawberries (each tier 2 layers), the bottom tier 12″, middle tier 10″ and the top tier 8″.  This was a HUGE cake. It was HEAVY. haha.

indiana jones chocolate cake with chocolate buttercream

This one was fun to make because the frosting of the cake (chocolate buttercream) didn’t have to be perfectly smooth.  🙂 Mini twix were used for the stairs (so I shoved a few in my face..) bought some plastic palm trees from the cake store and stuck them around the cake, tinted some buttercream green to pipe on some weeds/grass..and bought some different chocolate candies that resembled rocks and scattered them around the cake.  Then I crumbled an extra cupcake that I had and scattered that around the cake to make it look like dirt. Dropped some fondant skulls and snakes around and wa-lah! An Indiana Jones cake!! She ended up stealing a rare Indiana Jones figurine from one of her relatives and stuck it on the cake hahah.  Love it!

The accompanying chocolate cupcakes with chocolate buttercream came with some fondant toppers: skulls, snakes and treasure maps..the cowboy hats were made from chocolate molds and I used a minty chocolate. 🙂

indiana jones chocolate cupcakes with chocolate buttercream

I can now say, I’ve done an Indiana Jones themed baby shower. Haha..it was so much fun..Welcome baby Santana!! Your parents have great imaginations!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

