a USC birthday!

USC is quite a popular request for baked goods..I don’t really get any requests for UCI themed desserts..haha..that’s my alma mater. Maybe I’ll make myself something :).  My neighbor, who’s my best advocate and orders from me constantly wanted a small cake for her niece for her birthday and some chocolate covered oreos.  USC colors of course! 🙂 (I’m just jealous because I wasn’t smart ..or rich enough to make it to USC haah)

This was an 8″ 2 layer vanilla cake with fresh peaches and strawberries (to go with the USC color theme) and a swiss meringue buttercream tinted yellow.  The layers were also colored yellow and red.  I usually don’t get to see the cake cut after I send off the cake, but I asked my neighbor for some pictures so I can see what the layers look like. Here’s the ruffle cake without the topper:

IMG_6257

The ruffle cake is so much fun to make.  I think it’s one of my favorite techniques. There’s another technique I’m dying to try..it’s a petal effect..guess you’ll have to wait to see. 😀 Here’s my neighbor’s picture with the topper (which I made, but she put on later):

150930_10201670994921247_1231873144_n

Here are the chocolate covered oreos in the USC colors:

IMG_6256

Hope you had a happy 21st Birthday Maxinne!

Leave a Reply

